• Blunt Logo

Sign up for the BLUNT eNewsletter

Sum 41 Sign To Hopeless Records; New Album To Follow

Sum 41

On top of making us all feel monumentally ancient with the recent 15th anniversary of All Killer No Filler (which berthed classics like “Fat Lip”, “Pain For Pleasure” and “In Too Deep” as well as being an all-round superb listen from start to finish) Canadian punk rockers Sum 41 are celebrating another milestone: they’ve notched up 20 years together.

Their first order of business? They’ve signed to Hopeless Records, the label home of The Wonder Years, All Time Low, Neck Deep and our own With Confidence, among a slew of others. It’s all part of the master plan to release their sixth full-length, which will mark the group’s first new set of tunes in five years.

»» Read More: We Unearthed Sum 41’s First Ever BLUNT Cover Story ««

After a rough (to say the least) few years, frontman Deryck Whibley is back doing what he does best, having written, engineered and produced Sum 41’s forthcoming album. A release date is yet to be confirmed, but what we do know for sure is that we’ll be smashing our ears with LP#6 before the year is out.

Looking back on the last 20 years Whibley says, “It’s crazy to think that we started this band 20 years ago and so much has happened, and it all happened really fast. When I look back at everything it still feels like it’s all so recent. I think that’s a good thing because it still feels like there is still so much to do… which is why I am excited for a new album and to be doing it with Hopeless Records.”

Next month the Canucks will be traversing the US with the travelling circus that is the annual Vans Warped Tour and with their newfound label mates, we wouldn’t say no to a Sum 41 / Yellowcard / New Found Glory billing making its way to Oz.

Watch Sum 41’s nostalgic announcement video below.

  • BLUNT Posters

  • Jamming At BLUNT HQ