• Blunt Logo

Sign up for the BLUNT eNewsletter

Thy Art Is Murder Drop Last Ever Single With CJ McMahon

Thy Art Is Murder
Photo by Thomas Savage

All the way back in December ’15, underground guttural icon CJ McMahon made the controversial announcement that he’d be kissing Thy Art Is Murder goodbye, effective immediately. The band have since recruited Colossvs screamy-dude Lachlan Watt (also the sickcunt behind triple j’s The Racket), but before Thy Art 2.0 hit they studio, they’ve come out with the last songs ever recorded with McMahon.

“They Will Know Another” is one of two tracks the band laid down with Will Putney for a collaborative EP, titled The Depression Sessions. Massachusetts deathcore deviants The Acacia Strain and New Jersey shredders Fit For An Autopsy rounded out the edges, all bands contributing an OG track and their own spin on a classic jam (in Thy Art’s case, RAMMSTEIN‘s “Du Hast”).

Lovers of all things ‘core can get their hands on a copy of The Depression Sessions come August 12th, where it’ll launch on Thy Art’s former label, Nuclear Blast. A lyric video was also released for “They Will Know Another”, which intersperses footage of CJ laying down his final screams with shots of buildings collapsing and plenty (like, plenty) of dead bodies. As such, it probably falls under the ‘NSFW’ banner – consider this both your trigger and your bosses’ trigger warning.

Wrap your ears around “They Will Know Another” below!

The Depression Sessions is out August 12th via Nuclear Blast
Grab a copy: JB HiFi | Webstore | iTunes | Google Play


1. Thy Art Is Murder – They Will Know Another
2. The Acacia Strain – Sensory Deprivation
3. Fit For An Autopsy – Flatlining
4. Thy Art Is Murder – Du Hast (RAMMSTEIN cover)
5. The Acacia Strain – Black Hole Sun (Soundgarden cover)
6. Fit For An Autopsy – The Perfect Drug (Nine Inch Nails cover)

  • BLUNT Posters

  • Jamming At BLUNT HQ