• Blunt Logo

Sign up for the BLUNT eNewsletter

Asking Alexandria, Twenty One Pilots & More Featured On MCR Tribute Album

Screen Shot 2016-08-09 at 12.55.22 PM

My Chemical Romance‘s iconic 2006 opus, The Black Parade, celebrates its tenth anniversary this October – a huge deal, according to the massive ‘MCRX’ teaser that blew up last month… But also not so huge of a deal, according to what the massive ‘MCRX’ teaser ended up being for: a simple re-release of the album – sans b-sides, of course – along with some rough/live demos from the studio floor.

Surprisingly enough, then, the best thing to come of My Chemical Romance’s milestone doesn’t even come from My Chemical Romance – it comes from UK alternative mag Rock Sound. They’ve teamed up with some of the scene’s biggest acts to put their spin on one of the most timeless rock albums of this era.

Genre doesn’t mean shit, too, which makes it all the more interesting: imagine an all-out metalcore rendition of “Famous Last Words” from Asking Alexandria, or a schizoid pop flip on “Cancer” by Twenty One Pilots. Pop-punk legends State Champs are tackling “The Sharpest Lives” and emo-pop outfit Moose Blood (who are in the country this month for a tour) have “I Don’t Love You” under their belts, while technopunk terrorisers Ghost Town are re-inventing “Mama” and Escape The Fate are getting shred-heavy with “Dead!”.

Basically, you need this. The album will come free with every copy of Rock Sound #218, which itself costs only $9 AUD. You can pre-order the issue now via Rock Sound’s webstore (link below), and yes, they ship internationally!

Listen to MCR’s classic “Welcome To The Black Parade (and imagine Crown The Empire covering it) below!

Rock Sound Presents: The Black Parade drops September 14th
Pre-order it: Webstore


01. ONE OK ROCK – “The End.”
02. Escape The Fate – “Dead!”
03. Creeper – “This Is How I Disappear”
04. State Champs – “The Sharpest Lives”
05. Crown The Empire – “Welcome To The Black Parade”
06. Moose Blood – “I Don’t Love You”
07. Palisades – “House Of Wolves”
08. twenty one pilots – “Cancer”
09. Ghost Town – “Mama”
10. New Years Day – “Sleep”
11. Against The Current – “Teenagers”
12. Chunk! No, Captain Chunk! – “Disenchanted”
13. Asking Alexandria – “Famous Last Words”

Check out the OG demo, “The Five Of Us Are Dying” from Living With Ghosts below!

The Black Parade / Living With Ghosts drops September 23rd via Reprise / Warner
Pre-order it: JB HiFi | Webstore | iTunes


1. The Five Of Us Are Dying (rough mix)
2. Kill All Your Friends (live demo)
3. Party At The End Of The World (live demo)
4. Mama (live demo)
5. My Way Home Is Through You (live demo)
6. Not That Kind Of Girl (live demo)
7. House Of Wolves, Version 1 (live demo)
8. House Of Wolves, Version 2 (live demo)
9. Emily (rough mix)
10. Disenchanted (live demo)
1.1 All The Angels (live demo)

  • BLUNT Posters

  • Jamming At BLUNT HQ