• Blunt Logo

Sign up for the BLUNT eNewsletter

Green Day Are Officially Back In Action With New Single; Album Details

Green Day

Despite what your cynical hipster friends on Facebook want you to believe, Green Day are back on top, and their new single – the loud, politically-charged (sorta-)punk banger “Bang Bang” – proves that almost effortlessly.

Though it isn’t as lyrically powerful as earlier outings have been, the new single shines with raging alt-rock riffs, thumping drums and a galloping bridge; and of course, frontman Billie Joe Armstrong’s voice is always just totally fucking unrivalled. The new cut, released with an artistically-driven lyric video, puts Armstrong in the mind of a mass shooter, touching on a topic that’s especially touchy in the US right now.

“Bang Bang” comes as our first taste of Green Day’s twelfth studio album, Revolution Radio. It’s a heavily politically-focused LP (as expected), but don’t expect another grandiose rock opera like American Idiot or 21st Century Breakdown – Green Day look to be riding the wave of simple wall-to-wall bangers again, if this track’s throwback vibes and carefree energy give us any indication.

“Of course the world has lost its collective mind… And me, Mike [Dirnt, bass] and Tré [Cool, drums] are lost souls too,” says Armstrong. “Revolution Radio is a movement for lost souls to come together… Dance together… Sing together… And most of all, find each other. That’s what the spirit of Green Day has been about since day one.”

The new 12-track opus drops on October 7th via Reprise and Warner, following on from 2012’s critically muddled ¡Uno!, ¡Dos! and ¡Tré! trilogy. Scroll down for pre-order details and the official tracklisting!

Revolution Radio drops October 7th via Reprise / Warner
Pre-order it: JB HiFi | SanityWebstore | iTunes


1. Somewhere Now
2. Bang Bang
3. Revolution Radio
4. Say Goodbye
5. Outlaws
6. Bouncing Off The Wall
7. Still Breathing
8. Youngblood
9. Too Dumb To Die
10. Troubled Times
11. Forever Now
12. Ordinary World

  • BLUNT Posters

  • Jamming At BLUNT HQ