• Blunt Logo

Sign up for the BLUNT eNewsletter

Camp Cope Have Announced Their Self-Titled Debut Album

Screen Shot 2016-03-08 at 6.08.31 PM

2016 is already shaping up to be a fucking incredible year for new albums, and the latest opus to top our hype list is none other than the self-titled debut from Melbourne indie-punk-ish trio Camp Cope. The disc was announced a fair while back when the project started to take off in late ’15, but now we have a solid, concrete announcement, and… Holy shit. There is just way too much excitement going on right now.

Led by indiecoustic icon Georgia Maq (though here donning an electric) with Sarah Thompson behind the kit and Kelly Hellmrich slapping bass, the group made their Poison City debut with “Lost: Season One” last year, promptly making themselves one of our favourite up-and-coming acts. The full-length is set to drop on April 22nd, with a slew of killer vinyl pressings and bundles on offer (check the link-y stuff below).

As expected, the album will be filled with Maq’s spellbinding and passionate lyricisms, the LP described as discussing “real life working shifts in a hospital, living in rundown share houses in Footscray and what it’s like to be a woman in the world.” Revered producer Sam Johnson (The Smith Street Band, The Bennies) handled recording and mixing duties on the disc.

If the above news isn’t enough to give you heart palpitations, the band have also released their second single from the eight-track release, “Jet Fuel Can’t Melt Steel Beams”. As meme-tastic as the title makes it seem, the track is actually a super powerful topic-dive into the ever-prevalent culture of victim blaming and the ever-annoying bullshit of conspiracy theorists. It was premiered last night on triple j’s Home And Hosed.

Get your angry dance vibes on with Camp Cope’s new single “Jet Fuel Can’t Melt Steel Beams” below!

Camp Cope (self-titled) is out April 22 via Poison City
Grab a copy: iTunes | Webstore


1. Done
2. Flesh and Electricity
3. West Side Story
4. Lost: Season One
5. Jet Fuel Can’t Melt Steel Beams
6. Trepedation
7. Stove Lighter
8. Song For Charlie

  • BLUNT Posters

  • Jamming At BLUNT HQ