• Blunt Logo

Sign up for the BLUNT eNewsletter

American Football Have Announced Their First New Album In 17 Years

Screen Shot 2016-08-24 at 4.51.59 PM
Photo by Shervin Lainez

Tool ain’t got nothing on American Football. The OG kings of first-wave emo dropped their spellbinding self-titled debut back in 1999; they broke up not long thereafter, but reunited in 2014 for some nostalgia-driven touring buzz and… Not much else. Well, not until now. The quartet’s long-awaited return to the throne will come on Friday, October 21st, when American Football (yes, it’s another self-titled jaunt) hits shelves via Polyvinyl.

This time taking us through the interior of the iconic American Football house, LP #2 was pieced together with producer Jason Cupp alongside the band themselves, and was laid down in secret throughout early 2016. Like the debut, nine tracks flood the new opus with swervy guitar jams and heartstring-plucking vocals, and our first taste of them comes in the form of “I’ve Been So Lost For So Long”. It’s a fitting title with a fitting sound: everything we could possibly want from a sequel to a 17-year-old classic.

American Football will celebrate the album release a handful of shows in Chicago, New York, Los Angeles and London. No word on when the blokes will return to Australia – they were last seen on our shores in July of last year for an East Coast run – but you can bet we’ll be losing our shit when the shows are inevitably announced.

Lose yourself with “I’ve Been So Lost For So Long” below!

American Football (LP2) drops October 21st via Polyvinyl / [PIAS]
Pre-order it: Webstore | iTunes


1. Where Are We Now?
2. My Instincts Are the Enemy
3. Home Is Where the Haunt Is
4. Born to Lose
5. I’ve Been So Lost for So Long
6. Give Me the Gun
7. I Need a Drink (or Two or Three)
8. Desire Gets in the Way
9. Everyone Is Dressed Up

  • BLUNT Posters

  • Jamming At BLUNT HQ