• Blunt Logo

Sign up for the BLUNT eNewsletter

Against Me! Announce 7th Album; Drop Killer New Single “333”

Screen Shot 2016-07-19 at 1.29.23 AM

After months of teases, hints, and the occasional vague hype tweet, Floridian punk powerhouse Against Me! have finally announced their next full-length offering. Shape Shift With Me is the seventh chapter in one of the genre’s most enthralling legacies still unfurling, set to land with a bang on September 16th via the band’s own record label, Total Treble.

As if that alone isn’t enough to send your excitement through the roof (and out of Earth’s atmosphere), the quartet have dropped a bullshit good new tune in the form of lead single “333”. It’s everything you could want from an Against Me! banger – loud, lively, and with a chorus so huge it’ll be stuck in your head for at least the next eight months.

It’s also one of two new songs the band have been road-testing live in recent months; the other is “Boyfriend”, which you’ll also find nestled in the album’s tracklisting.

Shape Shift With Me is the follow-up to 2014’s critically praised Transgender Dysphoria Blues, which marked a turning point in the band’s narrative as frontwoman Laura Jane Grace came out as trans in 2012. After writing – through a conceptual lens – about her struggles and experiences with gender identity, Grace is using Shape Shift as an opportunity to write about something we’d usually cringe at coming from a punk band, but here, has us absolutely fucking stoked: this is goddamn love song album.

“Tons of people have written about love. But while love is cliché, it’s infinitely relevant,” Grace tells Loudwire. “For me, having always been in a punk band that was expected to be political, I never felt like I had that option to write about feelings in that way. That’s what I ended up being drawn to this time. It’s writing in a way I thought I could never write before, and not giving a shit about expectations.

“Is there a record that is about relationships from a trans perspective? There needs to be more records about trans rights and everything like that, but feeling like I already did that, I wanted to move on to write commentary on living from a trans perspective. I wanted to write the transgender response to the Rolling Stones’ Exile On Main St., Liz Phair’s Exile In Guyville and the Streets’ A Grand Don’t Come For Free. All those records are relationship records.

“There’s been an infinite amount of records talking about what love means from a cisgender perspective. I wanted to present the trans perspective on sex, love and heartbreak.”

Of course, Shape Shift With Me isn’t the only chunk of LJG-tinted badarsery we’ll be getting our hands on this year – the queen of punk rock is releasing her memoir, Tranny: Confessions of Punk Rock’s Most Infamous Anarchist Sellout, on November 15th. It’s poised to be a totally bullshit-free affair with all of the gritty, sepia-toned details of her career left intact.

As for 2017, though, we’re chucking in our votes for another Australian tour. It’s gotta happen! It’s time!

Wrap your ears around Against Me!’s new cut “333” below!

Shape Shift With Me is out September 16th via Total Treble / Cooking Vinyl
Grab a copy: JB HiFiWebstore | iTunes


1. ProVision L-3
2. 12:03
3. Boyfriend
4. Crash
5. Delicate, Petite & Other Things I’ll Never Be
6. 333
7. Haunting, Haunted, Haunts
8. Dead Rats
9. Rebecca
10. Norse Truth
11. Suicide Bomber
12. All This And More

  • BLUNT Posters

  • Jamming At BLUNT HQ