• Blunt Logo

Sign up for the BLUNT eNewsletter

Real Friends Drop Halloween-Themed Music Video For “Mess”


Halloween ’16 is less than a week away, and if there’s any shred of sanity in your body, you’re most likely obsessing over what perfect costume you’ll be repping come October 31st (+1 to anyone that goes out as a sexy pancake – tweet us pics).

In the lead-up to Spoopy Christmas, pop-punk luminaries Real Friends have dropped an emo-as-fuck music video for their new single “Mess”, chronicling one ill-fated night of Halloween past, 1995. The Kyle Thrash-directed clip puts the ‘friends’ part of their name in focus, but hones in on the lack thereof – a true face-flip on a staple pop-punk trope. Basically, don’t check it out if you’re not prepared to sob like the little bitch you are inside.

“We are stoked to show everyone our music video for ‘Mess’,” says bassist Kyle Fasel. “The coolest part was having our fans involved in the filming of the video. We had about one hundred extras in the video over the course of two days. All of those extras were our fans. If I was in one of my favourite bands’ music videos, I would be super stoked.”

“We had wanted to work with Kyle Thrash for a very long time,” adds frontman Dan Lambton. “We met him a few years ago while we were out with Modern Baseball and saw him grow as a director through all of their music videos along with Neck Deep and State Champs among many others. Kyle brought a new vision to our whole perspective on videography. We never had extras, an intricate set, or as detailed of a story line before. We had a lot of kids from the Philly area come out and give their time to be in the video and it was awesome getting to connect to fans in a different light. I’m also very glad I didn’t fall off the bike while we were shooting.”

“Mess” is the latest single to come from Real Friends’ second full-length, The Home Inside My Head, which was released earlier in the year on Fearless Records.

Watch the new video for Real Friends’ “Mess” below!

The Home Inside My Head is out now via Fearless / Caroline
Grab a copy: JB HiFi | Webstore | iTunes


  • BLUNT Posters

  • Jamming At BLUNT HQ