• Blunt Logo

Sign up for the BLUNT eNewsletter

Oh Hey, Sum 41 Have Announced Their Comeback Album


So it turns out Sum 41 weren’t in too deep after all (or were, but… Debt) – the OG dads of pop punk will release their sixth studio album on October 7th, titled 13 Voices. Hopes are high that the record will at least up the quintet’s game after 2011’s questionable-at-best Screaming Bloody Murder, but with the news that they’ve also signed to scene stalwarts Hopeless Records for the release, we should be safe.

“I am really excited to be releasing an album after everything I’ve been through recently,” wrote frontman Deryck Whibley in a Facebook post. “This new music represents the journey I’ve been on throughout the process of making this record. I had to fall in order to rise, and nothing feels better than to have something you love that you had to really fight for. I can honestly say that [13 Voices] saved my life and I cannot wait to share it with all of you.”

Along with being recorded, produced and engineered by Whibley in his L.A. home, LP#6 will be the first to feature new recruit Frank Zummo behind the drums, and will see guitarist Dave “Brownsound” Baksh return for his first release since 2004’s Chuck. It comes after a lengthy period where the future of Sum 41 was in question, after Whibley’s hard-drinking lifestyle began to catch up with him.

“I had to learn how to do everything again – my motor skills, learning how to play guitar again… I couldn’t even walk at the time,” Whibley said. “It was really difficult, but at the same time if I didn’t have a record to make, I don’t think I would have recovered as quickly. Writing music gave me a purpose. I had to get better.”

Gear up for some new Sum 41 with a classic tune below!

13 Voices is out October 7th via Hopeless Records / UNFD
Grab a copy: JB HiFi | iTunes


1. A Murder of Crows (You’re All Dead To Me)
2. Goddamn I’m Dead Again
3. Fake My Own Death
4. Breaking The Chain
5. There Will Be Blood
6. 13 Voices
7. War
8. God Save Us All (Death to POP)
9. The Fall And The Rise
10. Twisted By Design

  • BLUNT Posters

  • Jamming At BLUNT HQ